Back from a break

Hello readers,

I’m currently studying for my MA Creative Writing so I haven’t had a huge amount of time to update my crafting blog, but I have been working on a few things. The craft and sewing club I go to has opened up on a Thursday night now as well as a Friday morning and it has been fun. Last week we made bunny egg cosies and this week other people made bug pin cushions while I worked on a pattern I found on the SEW magazine website. It was quite handy getting that done because on Friday morning one of the ladies wanted to have a go at making it and I was on hand to interpret the instructions. I’ve also made a flamingo from a pattern I found on the same website and another dragon. I made a chicken pin cushion last Friday and a lavender lady this Friday. On Student Loan Day I treat myself to some new fat quarter packs, and picked up another from Aldi on Thursday evening.

With the fat quarters I bought on Student Loan Day I made a padded case for my laptop, the chicken pin cushion and the dachshund. I still have lots left so I’m looking for new patterns to try out, I want to have some new stock made for the next craft fair I do. I don’t know when that will be yet.

Image may contain: indoor

Image may contain: indoor

This is the pattern and instructions I worked from to make the flamingo: http://www.sewmag.co.uk/free-sewing-patterns/flossie-flamingo 

I’ve posted a picture of the dachshund below, and as the header picture, but here’s the link to the pattern if you’re interested in having a go yourself:

http://www.sewmag.co.uk/free-sewing-patterns/dave-dachshund-templates

In addition, I’ve been crocheting like the wind. Aldi had some wool in on Thursday and Friday. I bought another 400g ball of blue aran to add to my big blanket that will hopefully cover my bed when it’s finished, and some polyester fleece type yarn, one pack of blue, yellow and purple, and one of dusky blue. Each pack had four 100g balls in it. For ¬£3.49 I’d say that was a bargain.

I used two of the balls to make a bath mat. It is 21 rows of dc, using an 8.00mm hook, I can’t remember how many chains wide though, but the finished mat is about 2 foot wide. Enough to fit between the bath and wall but not enough to block the bathroom door. I have a very small bathroom.

img-20170210-wa0000

I’ve made a scarf in the same yarn, and I’m working on a granny square lap blanket in the blue fleece yarn. I’m also working on the large Aran blanket that I’ve already mentioned and a small green double knit yarn blanket that will eventually have crocheted flowers on it. I have made the flowers, now I just have to finish the green blanket to sew them on to.

I have to get back to my reading now, bye.

 

Leave a Reply

