Bees, backpacks and blankets

 

My sister and I went to a craft fair yesterday, as you can see we had a good big table. I finished a ‘bee’ pattern from Sew magazine; my sister says it looks more like a glow worm (who remembers those?). You can see the glow worm/bee on the table, bottom right as you look at the screen.

I also made a back pack on Saturday from a pattern in July’s Sewing World. It is going to Paris with me in two weeks as my luggage  as we’ve only got hand luggage. It’s only a three night trip so I don’t need an awful lot and it all fits in my little bag. I’m stupidly proud of myself for making it successfully. I had to do a bit of a repair on the left strap because I didn’t quite get the strap in the right place between the layers of material and interfacing. I used the material from a couple of quilt covers I’d been given by a friend. I used one, a heavier purple/pink material for the outer material, flap and internal pocket. The liner is made from another quilt cover, it’s thinner and white/cream. The straps are made from white webbing and plastic clips. The original pattern has an open pocket inside, but I added a zip for a bit of extra security.

Since I couldn’t settle to much else on Saturday evening I finished my corner-to-corner blanket. It’s rather colourful isn’t it?

c2c blanket

Leave a Reply

