Big girls need to adapt

Their accessories sometimes.

image

Adding some length to a bag

I’m overweight. I mean that seriously, I got my height and weight checked during one of my doctor’s appointments yesterday; my official BMI is 50 – no obesity diseases yet so far though and my weight has been stable for years despite several vigorous attempts to lose the weight. Before anyone says I’m heading for heart disease and diabetes, I’ve had my blood work done three times this year already and I’m due for another lot in September. The results are consistent – no indication of being pre-diabetic, no cholesterol problems, no indication of any liver function problems. The only thing that showed up was anaemia. So there.

I say all this because I get all sorts of hassle for being big. Apparently, I’m inherently unhealthy and must be living on chocolate cake and doughnuts, and never exercise. Except that that’s a load of horse dung.

Anyway, I was in Grimsby earlier, visiting the Farmer’s Market, and I got some filthy looks for enjoying a venison burger. I got even more filthy looks when I had a post-shopping cupcake and coffee in Freshney Place.

I have problems getting comfortable accessories, especially bags; the straps are never long enough. I’ve even had problems with backpacks and rucksacks. My favourite bag, when my shoulder and back are playing up (industrial accident/sports injuries – former county longbow champion thank you very much) is a cross body bag from an American company called Earth Pac. It’s made from something like 90% recycled materials and I’ve had it for years. It’s big enough to get my note books and pens in, and I could probably fit my sewing in too, depending on what I’m working on, and it has an elasticated part that I can keep my rolled up waterproof jacket in. It’s not pretty but it is practical; for me that makes it pretty perfect.

The only problem with this otherwise exemplary accessory is that the strap was too short. It didn’t matter that much but my damaged back is painful and today I was carrying shopping too. So, I went to the haberdashery in Grimsby’s Top Town Market, Heather’s Haberdashery, and purchased half a meter of black webbing.

When I got home I cut the end off the existing webbing strap and pulled it through the clip. I then put the new webbing in its place, folded the end over three times and sewed it in place.

image

The folded and sewn end piece.

Next I sewed the end of the original strap to the new piece of webbing. I sewed it together with three lines of double running stitch then blanket stitched the two ends to the webbing.

image

The join between the original strap and the new webbing.

I used a strong steel craft needle, about three inches long and some black polycotton thread, doubled then doubled again to make four strands.

So, ladies and gents, don’t be put off if your bag straps are too long it short, modify them.

Leave a Reply

